Result clarification for major newbie

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Result clarification for major newbie

I am completely new to this whole DNA thing and very ignorant about how it all works. I have a question that I'm pretty sure anyone with some knowledge of this would be able to answer. I've been told all my life that I have Cherokee blood, however, my DNA results returned 96% European (80% British Isles and 16% Southeast Europe) and 4% trace on 4 other backgrounds. So I am assuming I have no native American, am I correct?

Originally posted by dhulen View Post
    I am completely new to this whole DNA thing and very ignorant about how it all works. I have a question that I'm pretty sure anyone with some knowledge of this would be able to answer. I've been told all my life that I have Cherokee blood, however, my DNA results returned 96% European (80% British Isles and 16% Southeast Europe) and 4% trace on 4 other backgrounds. So I am assuming I have no native American, am I correct?
    Do your results indicate what those trace amounts are?

Chances are it could mean that you do not have Native American DNA, unless of course it is quite far back in which case you may not have inherited the genetic material. Many Americans claim to have indigenous heritage when they do not.

Comment

Result clarification for major newbie

Thank you for your reply. The trace are:
      East Middle East <1%
      Scandinavia <2%
      Weest Africa <1%
      Asia Minor <1%

Comment

The admixture reports are one of the weaker aspects of analysis due to the very generalized nature of the data. You may find different answers depending on the population samples used.

Try uploading to the free site www.gedmatch.com. Once you get uploaded, try the admixture section and choose Eugenes K13. That has a category called Amerindian that could show up.

Comment

Originally posted by ech124 View Post