Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Genetic Distance 1 - Native American

Hello all,

Even though I have had my brother's DNA done a couple of years ago, I am still a newbie and really don't understand a lot of what I am reading! At any rate, I just looked at my brother's markers and I see at Genetic Distance 1 - United States-Native American 1 - country total-1616 - 0.1%.
    This has not shown up before as the reason my brother took the test is to confirm or disprove our Native American ancestry (oral history passed down from a few generations ago).
    Can someone tell me in simple language if this means anything? As I said, this never showed up in the markers before. Any help greatly appreciated.
    Janice

Originally posted by jebfalvey View Post
    Hello all,

Even though I have had my brother's DNA done a couple of years ago, I am still a newbie and really don't understand a lot of what I am reading! At any rate, I just looked at my brother's markers and I see at Genetic Distance 1 - United States-Native American 1 - country total-1616 - 0.1%.
    This has not shown up before as the reason my brother took the test is to confirm or disprove our Native American ancestry (oral history passed down from a few generations ago).
    Can someone tell me in simple language if this means anything? As I said, this never showed up in the markers before. Any help greatly appreciated.
    Janice
    Native American Y haplogroups are typically C or Q. If that doesn't apply to you, the most likely explanation is that the match did not follow instructions about reporting the location of the most distant known ancestor. You are not supposed to say United States unless the ancestor is Native American.

Comment

Genetic Distance 1 - Native American

Hi Ann,

Thank you for taking the time to reply. My brother is G-M201.
      When I first received the results, it just said "United States," now it adds Native American. Oh well, I guess it is all still a mystery!