34 of 37 Markers...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 34 of 37 Markers...

Should I really consider this RARE R1b DNA pattern that coincidently resided in the same county/state in the 1860s as my long lost biological ancestors?

Originally posted by Lost-Sheep
    Should I really consider this RARE R1b DNA pattern that coincidently resided in the same county/state in the 1860s as my long lost biological ancestors?
    IMHO-You should at minimal investigate it. Any paper trail? What will you loose if you dont consider it and what will you gain if you do? Im no expert at dna...but if you do have a paper trail with some good info, I would say yes...consider it.

Would love to know what you do find out. Keep us posted.

Comment

?

Can you elaborate?

Does it match your own or come close?

If not, then it's the rare R1b of some other family.

Comment

The original 12-marker string was even a rare R1b combination...so rare, that I was able to tell the participant the name of his own great-grandfather. It has a rare DYD393-14 mutation that sticks out like a sore thumb. I had only seen this same 12-marker R1b combination one other time on the Sorenson Project which identifies the ancestry of the participant. The Sorenson participant turned out to be a cousin of the FTDNA participant who initially submitted his results through the Genographic Project. His Y-DNA matches my uncle's Y-DNA 34/37 markers.

Anyway, my great-grandfather was conceived in 1864 in a very rural county oin North Carolina when his mother's husband was off to war. It was not possible that his mother's husband could have fathered him because he was hundreds of miles away at the time. Also, I have already confirmed through the Y-DNA of a descendant of a legitimate brother (or in this case, half-brother) of my great-grandfather that his mother's husband's Y-DNA is way off that of his. I hope my description of this issue is not too confusing as names are not mentioned.