Male Matches Me on Mtdna

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Male Matches Me on Mtdna

I am a female with a male Family Finder DNA Match on the x chromosome. Relationship range is 3rd to 5th cousins. I think that means we definitely match on both our maternal sides and that we have one of the 3 in common: a great,great grandmother, a great, great,great grandmother or a great,great, great,great grandmother in common based or the 3rd-5th cousin range. I am new to Family Finder and trying to understand how I am related to my matches. Thanks much

I'm a bit confused as to which test the male took that shows the X chromosome match to you as you are heading your post with Male matches me on mtDNA. The X chromosome isn't part of the mtDNA test rather a part of the Family Finder autosomal DNA test. And you mentioned he was a FF match on the X. Did he do a mtDNA test as well?

A man gets his X chromosome 100% from his mother, but she gets her X chromosome from both her father and mother. It isn't a straight shot back down the mother's mother's mother's line. That's the mitochondrial test and uses an entirely different DNA than the Family Tree. You might want to Google an X chromosome inheritance chart/male for a good visual of the various lines back that a male can get his X DNA from. There are also ones showing the female inheritance possibilities as well.

Comment

Which mtDNA test did you have? Was it the full mitochondrial sequence?

Comment

Correction.. We match on Family Finder not MtDNA

Sorry about the confusion in my question. He is an X match on Family Finder. I genuinely appreciate the feedback and suggestions.

Comment

I haven't found X-matches to be very useful to date, especially for females because they have SO many.