Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Could MyOrigins 9% So. European & 5% Near East be recent?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Could MyOrigins 9% So. European & 5% Near East be recent?

Hi. I am a total DNA newbie interested in the meaning of my new MyOrigins results and how it aligns with what I know of my family background:

My Origins 2.0 results:
    British Isles 46%
    Scandinavia 22%
    Central/Western Europe 15%
    So. Europe 9%
    Near East 5%
    Finland <2%
    Oceania <2%

Ancient Origins:
    Metal Age 13%
    Neolithic Farmer 44%
    Hunter Gatherer 43%

What I know about my ethnic/geographic background:

Paternal Grandfather: Scotland (migrated to U.S. in 1880's)
    Paternal Grandmother: unknown (adopted in U.S. in 1800's)
    Maternal Grandfather: Luxembourg (family migrated to U.S. in 1840's)
    Maternal Grandmother: Norway (family migrated to U.S. in 1840's)

I have had my mtdna tested and I am Haplogroup H1ap1.

Given this information, I'm confident in the results for the first three categories from My Origins; British Isle, Scandinavia and Western/Central Europe. My question is: Since no one in our family has a recollection of any known ancestors from the regions of Southern Europe, are those 9% and 5% figures MOST LIKELY to reflect neolithic migrations of near eastern farmers? or could these percentages indicate more recent migrations in to Britain, Scandinavia and West/Central Europe say within the last 500 years?

I truly appreciate any insight or guidance you would like to share.
    Last edited by Laurie_Robinson; 12 April 2017, 03:27 PM. Reason: adding Haplogroup

I think recent...

I'm no expert here but 9 % is still quite high... so most likely within the last 500 years or so.
    I'm mostly Swedish but I had a polish ancestor that migrated to Sweden in the 1670:s (one person only) and I now have an estimated 2 % polish genes remaining from him (some 350 years later).
    I hope this helped somewhat.