Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How is our Haplogroup letter determined?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How is our Haplogroup letter determined?

I'm fairly new to this DNA search for my ancestors, and I haven't really seen anything posted on how our haplogroup letter is determined based on our DNA tests. If this has been answered already I apologize.

From what I've read so far various mutations can occur in different haplogroups, so what is it that is so specific to link everyone to a specific haplogroup? My haplogroup is supposed to be an old one, N*, and my mutations are 16292T and 16519C, and I've seen both of those mutations in various other haplogroups. I've uploaded my results in the mitosearch and found my same mutations to others with Haplogroup H and W, so what is it about my DNA that puts me in Haplogroup N*?

I've waiting for my refinement test, but from what I've read, I don't think it's going to change my haplogroup N* to a different letter at all.

It's amazing to me that this information can be derived at all from one little swab in your mouth.

And I guess I may as well ask my other question which is probably going to sound very dumb, but who exactly was tested originally to determine the base line for the haplogroups? Was it tribes of people still living in the regions, or bones from bodies found?

Again, I do apologize if these questions have been answered, but I haven't really found anything that would answer them for me.

Hello Marcia,

Welcome. While you wait for your mtDNA refine test results, may I suggest you browse the following links, from a basic introduction to a more thorough study about mtDNA.

http://www.ilbg18230.pwp.blueyonder....sion/intro.htm
    http://www.mcdonald.cam.ac.uk/genetics/iceage.pdf
    http://www.ebc.ee/tymri00/PhD/2004/tambets_thesis.pdf

Best of journeys!

Victor

Comment

Originally posted by Marcia S.