Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New to this - can you help me decipher my results?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to this - can you help me decipher my results?

Hi

I'm new to this and have just received my Ancestry by DNA 2.5 and Euro-DNA 1.0 results and wonder if anyone would help me make sense of it. Sorry if am posting this on the wrong board - plase feel free to re-direct me!

The 2.5 results are:
    98% European
    2% Native American

The 1.0 results are:
    31% Northern European
    26% Southeastern European
    28% Middle East
    15% South Asian

I am a female born in England, with a mother born in England and Father born in Scotland. As far as I know my maternal grandparents were English and my paternal grandmother Scottish. All of us would describe ourselves as Caucasian (I'm a blue eyed blond) and from long generations of people residing in the United Kingdom - however I have a paternal grandfather that no one knows anything about. My Grandmother is alive but will take the 'secret' to the grave. She was very young when she had my father and I wonder about it being non consenting. This prompted my taking the 'test'. I will also add that in photos of my maternal grandfather as a child he looks asian in origen, but as an adult and a sailor he just looked very tanned!

I would be grateful for any comments. I will do some review of the literature but am I right in thinking that my heritage is not that straightforward and somewhere, not so long back, someone of non Northern European heritage was 'involved'. Quite happy with that - kinds of fits in with what I suspected.

Many thanks for any help.

Kirsty