Lots of Beginner Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lots of Beginner Questions

I am new to this and have quite a few questions. Any advice, direction, or answers would be very much appreciated. Im not even sure if this is the correct forum to ask questions

The situation:
    My dad is adopted and we know basically nothing (race of his mom, his birth hospital, and the area his mom worked in). I did 23andme for health info and unexpectedly came up with a "second to third cousin" match (I will call him Cousin A) with 2.89% and 8 segments shared. The craziest part....he has a bio and I found out he is from my current small town (really weird since where I currently live is not connected with my parents, where my dad was adopted, where we grew up, etc.). I requested him to share his info and he did, but he did not respond to my written message (admittedly probably not the best intro).

My dad then took the test and Cousin A returned as a "second cousin" classification with the same paternal haplogroup and 5.93% and 18 segments shared.

I was able to easily locate Cousin A on facebook as well as quite a few other family members (his dad, uncle, and some cousins) and I started a family tree on ancestry.com to try to piece things together and am having pretty good luck.

My questions:
    1.) Am I correct in assuming that Cousin A is actually a first cousin once removed of my dads? We cant both be second cousins correct; also 18 segments shared seems like a lot?

2.) Are there any other relationship possibilities? I am basically assuming that one of Cousin A's great uncles is my dad's father (btw my dad is mixed and his birth mom was white....Cousin A is black and we are assuming he is related on the paternal side).

3) Due to the shared paternal haplogroup...Can I confidently assume that my dads father is a brother of Cousins A grandpa on his father's side (the paternal Uncle of Cousin A's dad)?