Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Haplogroup E3b (M35) - Descended from the Khazars?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Haplogroup E3b (M35) - Descended from the Khazars?

Hello,

Just learned from Nat. Geo that I am E3b (M35).

My father's family came from the area of Europe (Russia) that bordered Asia.

He and his mother had distinct oriental features (as do I but to a lesser extent).

Are we descended from the Khazars?

Any insight into that question, the possible background of our oriental features, and any other info about E3b (M35) genes from that area, would be very appreciated.

Steve

Somebody with more knowledge than I should answer your question since I am a relative newbie, but from what I understand, E3b originated in the Middle East; Q is the Haplogroup that is likely to be from the Khazars.
    Judy

Comment

Originally posted by sbs
      Hello,

Just learned from Nat. Geo that I am E3b (M35).

My father's family came from the area of Europe (Russia) that bordered Asia.

He and his mother had distinct oriental features (as do I but to a lesser extent).

Are we descended from the Khazars?

Any insight into that question, the possible background of our oriental features, and any other info about E3b (M35) genes from that area, would be very appreciated.

Steve
      Some interesting links:

http://www.jogg.info/11/coffman.pdf

http://www.ebc.ee/tymri00/PhD/2004/SRootsi_thesis.pdf

http://hpgl.stanford.edu/publication...4_p127-148.pdf

Comment

I just discovered my '3Eb'ness from the Genographic Project a couple of weeks ago. All sorts of new questions popped into my mind. As someone who looks Nordic and having been adopted by Nordic parents, I expected to have North Sea rather than Mediterranian show up in the "your journey" map with the arrows.

A few days ago I sent in for "deeper" tests. Hopefully I won't end up with an enigma within an enigma.