Total Newbie here...which test???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Total Newbie here...which test???

So I was looking for someone with a similar scenario to mine and didn't see one right away, so I figure I would just post a question and see if anyone could help.

After a lot of searching I may have found my half-siblings (sisters) through our father who has passed. Neither of us knew the others existed (although I suspected there might be somebody out there). Now that they know there is the possibility they have a brother, they are very open to a DNA test to confirm the relationship.

I don't need to do a test and join a data base that does random searches in hopes of finding siblings and other relations. Not that I wouldn't find that interesting down the road, but the issue at hand is proving whether or not we are in fact half-siblings.

So, I am seeking advise. Which type test would be best for this. The two sisters are full-siblings with the same father so I am assuming I would only need to be matched with one of them?

I am not trying to do this on the cheap, but I am not wealthy, so being cost effective is also a concern. We are in different states so something that is mailed away would most likely work best.

Any help/advise would be welcome. Thanks

The autosomal test ($99) is your only option in this case since women don't carry Y DNA and your mothers are different so mtDNA can't help. You'll get a definitive answer as to whether they are immediate relatives in the autosomal test. Yes only test one of the sisters.
    Last edited by khazaria; 21 October 2015, 10:22 AM.

Comment

Originally posted by khazaria View Post
      The autosomal test ($99) is your only option in this case since women don't carry Y DNA and your mothers are different so mtDNA can't help. You'll get a definitive answer as to whether they are immediate relatives in the autosomal test. Yes only test one of the sisters.