My Origins & relationship to matches

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My Origins & relationship to matches

The following question may have you rolling in the aisles with laughter but I am a novice at DNA and have found what seems logical to me isn't necessarily so in the DNA world hence the following question.

I have undertaken the Family Finder test and in part expected to see some Danish ancestry as my great great grandfather was Danish. However My Origins did not reveal any Danish nor any Scandinavian.

Does this mean that none of my matches will also not be Danish or Scandinavian?

Originally posted by Martha View Post
    my great great grandfather was Danish. However My Origins did not reveal any Danish nor any Scandinavian.

Does this mean that none of my matches will also not be Danish or Scandinavian?
    You should have some Danish matches despite MyOrigins's oversight. Check your Family Finder match list (not only your MyOrigins screen's match list) carefully after your kit is fully processed, then let us know what kinds of northerly matches you find.

In the opposite scenario, MyOrigins thinks my father is 7% Scandinavian but he has no non-Jewish all-Scandinavian matches, neither in Family Finder nor in Gedmatch, and our family lived far from Scandinavia and has no tradition of Scandinavian heritage. This came about because he has a little bit of Polish admixture from way back and the calculator sometimes has problems distinguishing between North European ancestries. I inherited 3 of those Polish segments (ones I'm able to triangulate with Poles at Gedmatch and determined are South Baltic in origin) from my father and while MyOrigins claims I'm also 7% Scandinavian, DNA.LAND gives me only 0.47% other (that is, other than 99.53% combined Ashkenazi Jewish + Sephardi Jewish), and when I manually added up those 3 Polish segments by cM lengths and divided by my total autosome I got 0.48%.