Ethnicity confusion

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ethnicity confusion

Can anyone help to explain confusing Ethnicity / myOrigin results?

My wife, my son and I have all taken the basic Family Finder test.

As far as DNA matches go all seems fine (and consistent) but we are completely baffled by the myOrigin results.

I am, apparently, 65% British, 21% Scandinavian and 14% South European. My wife is 97% British and 3% Middle Eastern. Which is all well and good until we note that my son's origins are apparently - 87% Western and Central European, 12% British and 1% Eastern European.

I was a mathematician but still can't make any sense of my son's results (and before anyone asks, he is our son and the matches do confirm that!!!).

Any input welcomed.

Thanks.

Disclaimer: my family uses myOrigins results purely as a conversation starter, and I have no real knowledge about myOrigins internals.

A shift in your son populations can be partially explained by realizing that Europe is populated by a continuum of populations, so populations in the middle have features that are transitional between the ones at the perimeter.

Mr. W

Comment

Re: Ethnicity confusion

myOrigins shows ancestry from times that predate ethnicity.

Last October, there was a yearly FTDNA conference on Genetic Genealogy. During the conference, Razib Kahn, the person responsible for myOrigins, stated that reference population clusters that are used in myOrigins refer to 1000-10000 years ago, depending on a cluster.

Please search somewhere around the middle of the page http://www.ancestorcentral.com/decen...tic-genealogy/ for a report on the Razib Kahn presentation.

Mr. W

Comment

Originally posted by rjmerley View Post

As far as DNA matches go all seems fine (and consistent) but we are completely baffled by the myOrigin results.