Adopted

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Adopted

Hi, brand spankin' new to this.. I'm adopted and I believe I know the name of my birth father. Very common, Irish descent. I really just want to find a place to..belong I guess. Would one of these tests be able to verify at least a surname? Should I mention the surname or will it just match me someplace? At this point, it would be really cool to just be able to say from what country I originated for example. I can't explain this, but if you are in my situation you could understand I guess. Also, what test would anyone recommend?? I'm a teacher. I don't have much loot, so economy at this point is desireable. Thanks for any input you might have.

Found birthparents..sorta

Hi BMiller,
    Before we can suggest any sort of test..are you male or female?
    I'm an adoptee as well..male..and I used and am using the Y-DNA tests in an attempt to locate my bio-granddad.
    You must bear in mind that this genealogical testing will never *prove* relationships. It can be a strong indicator but somewhere, a paper trail is needed for what oen might consider "proof".
    The Y-DNA for males is, of course, a better indicator of possilbe surname relatedness .. the mtDNA tests will indicate a maternal line .. could be useful in helping to determine siblingship if your mother is common to both of you.
    Two brothers could use y-dna which will be the same for each if you have a father in common .
    A brother and sister would have to use the siblingship test route which thankfully is coming down in price!
    I found a gentleman who filled nearly every portion of the description my mother gave the adoption agency and DNA turned out to show he was (as he isisted) NOT my father .. but the good news is I did find my father's family (my 3 sisters) a short time later.

If I can be of any help you further, please feel free to contact me off list.

ChrisS

Comment

I'm male!