Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to calculate your most distant direct male and female ancestors...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to calculate your most distant direct male and female ancestors...

I have come across at least a dozen people today who've either got a man listed as their most distant direct maternal ancestor, or they've got the wife of their most distant direct paternal ancestor listed as their most distant direct maternal ancestor. Both are incorrect, hence this post which, btw, is NOT meant to be snarky or offensive or chastising. Rather, I am hopeful that by sharing my understanding of how to figure direct paternal and maternal lines, others will be able to work more accurately with their ancestry. Now, I'm no genealogy pro, so if I'm way off base here, someone with more knowledge please give me a polite nudge and re-educate me.