Whoa - No idea what to do

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Whoa - No idea what to do

I am a 55 year old female and my 90 year old mother is still alive. She was one of 8 children and her genealogy is fairly well traced.

My father was an only child, is deceased, and only had daughters. I would love to know more about his family line, as my paternal grandfather's background is unknown.

What should I do? If purchased a test for myself, and one for my mother, would I be able to figure out my dad's background by process of elimination? As you may notice, I am completely new to this and have lots of reading to do.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions on where to start to find out about my father's family.

Family Finder's My Origins can be interesting if you have some fairly recent exotic markers from one parent or the other. If both parents are plain European, the results will probably disappoint.

Comment

Get data from all daughters

Each of you will have gotten one X from your mother and one from your father. The X from your father will be some combination of his father and his mother. By comparing as many siblings as possible and your mother, you can get the maximum amount of information about your dad's side of things. There is a thread under X-Chromosomes on these forums that discusses doing this. The bottom line is - the more children that you can include the better.

Comment

Testing both yourself and your mother is helpful. If the two of you share some matches you can use that to determine that those matches are on your mother's side. There are some caveats with matches with minimal matching cMs, etc. but this will help you pinpoint things.