mtdna match-help needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• mtdna match-help needed

I have just received a note from a mtdna match (neither of us have refined).
    She looked at my attached gedcom and found a common ancestor.
    Problem is...for me anyway...the match is not on my far right maternal line.
    Our common ancestor is on my maternal grandfather side (and off a female on that side to boot).
    So...I assume that means that we are also related another way?
    Cece
    I am totally new to dna/mtdna genealogy so please bear with me if I am incorrect with any of my assumptions.!

Originally posted by ed4all
    I have just received a note from a mtdna match (neither of us have refined).
    She looked at my attached gedcom and found a common ancestor.
    Problem is...for me anyway...the match is not on my far right maternal line.
    Our common ancestor is on my maternal grandfather side (and off a female on that side to boot).
    So...I assume that means that we are also related another way?
    Cece
    I am totally new to dna/mtdna genealogy so please bear with me if I am incorrect with any of my assumptions.!

mtdna is like buying a house
    location location location

did you r maternal and paternal line live in the same place. maybe a small town somewhere on earth well mtdna is from sisters who have kids who have sisters who have kids and sisters.
    its not inconcieveable that your dads line 5 generations ago married someone who is an aunt or neice or sister to your maternal line

Comment

"location location location"

I totally understand the intermarriage part of this. My mother and her sister married my father and his brother....and believe it or not, my husband & are are also first cousins (although we never had children of our own to muck up the works!!!).
      Having said that...let me tell you what I know about this particular branch.
      My maternal grandmother's branch is Ireland, Ireland, Ireland.