YDNA 12 marker test

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• YDNA 12 marker test

I am confused about the result matches we got from the 12 marker test. The test predicted R-M269 haplo group R1B12a but the exact matches all seem to be to the M-222 group. There were no exact matches to our surname which is Lynn, but there were 6 matches to Flinn/Flynn. When I compared the results to some of the projects I found several that matched Lynns but none of these were listed in the matches FTDNA notified us of. I'm still fairly new to this and wonder what it is I'm missing. I know that the test only indicates a common ancestor so we upgraded to the autosomal test. Can anyone recommend the next step. The goal is to get past our brick wall which is William Linn, circa 1766-1815. It appears he just dropped off the face of the earth.

Originally posted by JlMedley View Post
    I am confused about the result matches we got from the 12 marker test. The test predicted R-M269 haplo group R1B12a but the exact matches all seem to be to the M-222 group. There were no exact matches to our surname which is Lynn, but there were 6 matches to Flinn/Flynn. When I compared the results to some of the projects I found several that matched Lynns but none of these were listed in the matches FTDNA notified us of. I'm still fairly new to this and wonder what it is I'm missing. I know that the test only indicates a common ancestor so we upgraded to the autosomal test. Can anyone recommend the next step. The goal is to get past our brick wall which is William Linn, circa 1766-1815. It appears he just dropped off the face of the earth.
    Welcome to the club ! Remember how long it took you to master your driving skills... But everyone learns