Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 12Y-STR results ready - total newby

Hello all,

My 12y-str results finally came in a few days ago, after one month of waiting, they are as follows:

Marker DYS393 DYS390 DYS19** DYS391 DYS385 DYS426 DYS388 DYS439 DYS389I DYS392 DYS389II***
    Value 13 23 14 10 16-17 11 12 11 13 11 30

My YDNA is still pending, also no exact matches can be found.
    However, i have checked my predicted haplogroup via "whit athey" and the results are quite shocking for me, as the prediction is E1b1b 98.4%. Should i expect the same prediction from Family Tree DNA or they are using a different algorithm? I have always thought that i am most fitting "J" as my father roots are from Iraq, furthermore my features are strongly semitic/arabid, even though my Mother is European white.
    I was wondering how accurate and reliable is the prediction and if there is any possibility that it may change if i test more markers or perform a y-snp testing. I accidentally noticed the results of an Indian, which are also predicted as E1b1b with 98.7%, but the confirmed haplogroup after snp testing is H-M69.

N80219 India H-M69 13 24 14 9 12-20 11 12 11 13 12 30

I am sorry if my questions sound stupid, but i am really a total noob in this dna field.
    If someone can shed a little light here, it will be much appreciated, thanks!
    Last edited by Ordway; 23 June 2014, 11:24 AM.

Originally posted by Ordway View Post
    Marker DYS393 DYS390 DYS19** DYS391 DYS385 DYS426 DYS388 DYS439 DYS389I DYS392 DYS389II***
    Value 13 23 14 10 16-17 11 12 11 13 11 30

My YDNA is still pending, also no exact matches can be found.
    However, i have checked my predicted haplogroup via "whit athey" and the results are quite shocking for me, as the prediction is E1b1b 98.4%.
    Looks like E1b1b to me as well.

Should i expect the same prediction from Family Tree DNA or they are using a different algorithm?