R1b, H7 found in Mallorca ;-)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• R1b, H7 found in Mallorca ;-)

Hi everybody! My mother tongue is Catalan, which is co-official with Spanish where I live so English would be my third language... I apologize for all the mistakes I _will_ make. Sorry. Feel free to correct me O:-)

I'm a Telecommunications Technical Engineer (3 years degree), a Computer Scientist (5 years degree), and now I'm pursuing a PhD in Computer Science at UIB (Mallorca, Balearic Islands, Spain).

So, I have some technical background... but I'm fairly new to genealogy and genetics. I'm interested in these areas mainly as a hobby, but I'd love to learn enough about them to do some serious (and hopefully useful, or at least interesting) research in the future.

My DNA has already been tested during the last year at FTDNA (everything but Full Mitochondria Sequence) and now I have a lot of results waiting to be used. I understand that most of these results need to be put in context in many, many senses. I would appreciate your comments and recommendations to get the most of my results. I'd like to know whether some conclusions I've already drawn are totally or partially right (or just wrong!).

For instance, my yDNA haplogroup is R1b and my mtDNA haplogroup is H7. R1b is pretty common (yeah, my paternal line is european, I could probably have said that in front of a mirror with no DNA tests at all ;-) but H7 looks very exciting: it's relatively scarce and unknown. And my maternal line is more mysterious to me, due to our naming conventions!