Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brickwall Buster ?

Hi all
    I am new here and hoping to breakthrough a brickwall I have hit on my paternal side of my family.
    I am unable to go further back than my Great Grandfather,John Albert Ernest Johnson.
    I know very little about him before he got married.
    Hopefully DNA testing will give some peace of mind as it had bothered me for several years now.
    I have had great success on my maternal side and have made some great discoveries there,but not so many on my fathers side.
    I am completely new to DNA and know very very little,I am reading many posts here hoping to learn the lingo and processes,but much so far is all Greek so to speak.
    I have been researching my family tree for about 5 years now and have added over 800 relatives to my tree.
    But my Y-side of the family is an absolute mystery.
    I live in Australia and know that my gg grandfather was suppose to be born in NSW,but there is not one single piece of evidence to support this except on his death certificate it says where he was born,but this most likely is wrong due as there is no paper trail to support this information.
    So I dont even know which country my families men folk immigrated from,I am presuming the UK as I am Caucasian.

So my last hope remains on DNA testing,hopefully I will get sort of result.