Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• X Match Confused

Hi guys,
    I'm very new to this stuff. I got my FF matches back today. I've also taken the mtDNA test. I am an adopted female given up for adoption. I know my biological mom's name and I have a half sister and half brother. My half sister took the mtDNA test and we came up in the same Haplogroup. She didn't take the FF test.

I have no clue of my parental father other than my biological mother told me he moved from Virginia to South Carolina after I was born (1970. They have no contact and I don't talk with my maternal mother.

Where is the first place I should be looking at for my paternal DNA. I thought I understood the X match but if I have an X match on a female that is 2-4th cousin that I don't see in my maternal family tree would that mean it could be a x from my paternal grandmother? Sorry I'm so confused on this.

Unless the segment on the X chromosome is over 7 cM, some say over 10 cM, just ignore it. I don't think FTDNA should report segments on the X chromosome that are under 7 cM. Segments under that are likely to be just in the general population.

You probably won't get much info out of mtDNA testing, other than verifying that you and your half-sister probably have the same mother. See if your half-sister will do a Family Finder test.

I also recommend you do a DNA test at Ancestry. Their complete lack of tools is disgraceful, but sometimes the size of their database alone is a great help when looking for close relatives.

Comment

Paternal DNA

DebbieH, you are good to go!

The FF matches you got back today are your cousins from BOTH of your parents, Mother AND Father.

The X is actually Chromo 23, and has a different inheritance path, and threshold for cMs and according to gender, than Chromos 1-22.
      Last edited by Biblioteque; 12th February 2018, 02:51 PM.

Comment

It's a 14.38 cM on the X match. I guess I'll just have to start emailing people.

Comment