GEDmatch interpretation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GEDmatch interpretation

I have had Y-DNA111 (and FF) tests carried out to try and find an unknown GGrandfather. FTDNA identified 1 possible Y111 match at GD7. I then uploaded to Gedmatch to see if there were additional matches and identified a very large number estimated GD4-5. I am an elderly novice struggling to understand what to do next and whether I should contact any of these as I have little to offer - I don't know potential surnames, other than my Grandfather's Birth details and where he lived in the UK. To contact them all is impracticable - how do I identify the strongest possibles? I have selected 2 people (who are tested as GD1 to each other) who both appear in my One-to-One List as GD4.6 as an example - both have no shared X-DNA segments with me. I have attached a pdf which may help someone more experienced to advise. Can anybody help?
    Attached Files
    Last edited by dagian; 13 December 2017, 02:34 PM.

Hello Dagian

Some observations.

I am not sure if this is a point of confusion for you, but GD = 7 for 111 YDNA has nothing to do with your GD of 4.6 at GedMatch. In fact, GedMatch never refers to a GD. The 4.6 is in a Gen column on One to Many or just referred to as 'estimated generations to the Most Recent Common Ancestor'

So GD 7 meant you have a 104/111 match on the YDNA, which is pretty good but could be several levels of cousins away from you. For example, I have a 109 and he is a 5th. Your 104 might be closer but he might also be further away.

On GedMatch, which is an Autosomal database like Family Finder, there is no Y analysis. You can list your Y haplogroup but its just for display. No effect on the results.
    Gen of 4.6 would be like this
    4.0 means gg gp in common, or 3rd cousin
    5.0 means ggg gp in common, or 4th cousin.
    4.6 implies a 3rd to 4th cousin with a gg gp or ggg gp in common.