Adoptive mom - looking for son's maternal heritage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Adoptive mom - looking for son's maternal heritage

I have an 8 yr old adopted son. He is my biological nephew, my brother was his birth father, so I know the heritage on that side of the family. My son is interested to know his heritage on his birth mother's side of the family too. I know her name and a little about her, but I don't have that information. I really just want to choose a test that will let him know he is 50% French, 20% Irish, etc., because at 8 yrs that's what he is most interested in right now. Has anyone done the Family Finder test? It lists ethnic percentages as one of the features, so I was hoping this one might provide the info I am looking for. I am new at this, so any info/help is appreciated! Thanks.

Family Finder will provide ethnic percentages - but be aware they will also provide "cousin" matches. While most will likely be such distant cousins that it won't mean much, there is always the possibility of it linking to a close relative. I don't know his situation but if you're not comfortable with getting in touch with his birth mother's side of the family, I wouldn't recommend a DNA test. But I believe 23andMe (which provide the same type of test as Family Finder - it's an autosomal DNA test) have the option to opt out of matching your DNA with other people and only provide the ethnicity results.

Also, keep in mind that whatever company you test with, the ethnicity results are only an estimate and typically vary depending on the company. They are very subject to interpretation - for example, AncestryDNA said I was 55% British, while FTDNA said I was 0% British! Believe it or not, there is some sense to it but it's complicated. If the only thing you're interested in is ethnicity results, in my experience, 23andMe was the most accurate.