Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My Story

Hello to all

I would like to introduce myself i am Judy I have been doing family research off and on for over 30 years.. I am a 62 year old female..I have a family tree on Ancestry and decided to do a DNA test.it came back in Sept. I connected my DNA results to my tree. I explored my matches looking at all the links and then I discovered that the man I put down as my father is NOT my father..their was no zero dna matches to him.. I went all the way back to the 1500s..and had an extensive histroy on this man thinking he was my father..I can not ask either one father who died in 1996 or mother who died in 2014.

where do I go from here to find my real father? what dna test should I do to start tracking down my leanage on my true father..

judy

Hi Judy,

I'm sorry you're dealing with this. The DNA test you took on Ancestry is the correct one. Have you taken the Family Finder test on here? I'd also suggest 23andMe or MyHeritage (if you're willing to get a subscription too). Do you have any close DNA matches so far that don't appear to be on your mother's side?

Comment

Judy, what Serket advised is true: you may want to test at other companies, to "fish in all ponds" for relatives on your birth father's side. You can transfer your Ancestry raw data file to Family Tree DNA (FTDNA), and MyHeritage, but would need to order a new test from 23andMe (both 23andMe and Ancestry do not accept transfers). Roberta Estes has two articles on transferring to other companies:
      DNA File Upload-Download and Transfer Instructions to and from DNA Testing Companies
      and DNA Testing and Transfers – What’s Your Strategy?