mixed messages kit 320477

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• mixed messages kit 320477

I am new to all of this. I was tested in the hopes of unravelling some of the mysteries of my paternal lineage. I did the y-111 test.

The results came back as undifferentiated R1. Then after two phone calls to FTDNA - I got two different messages. One saying Undifferentiated R1 was correct the other saying it was a mistake. Shortly ( a couple days) after the last call my Haplo group changed to R-M269. Today I look and it says I need pay $39 to to test if I'm R-M269. yet I am predicted to be that.

I have only 12 marker matches and 9 pages of them.

Question 1: does anyone ever get tested positive or is this all a game of prediction and presumtion? Predicted Haplogroups and presumed accuracy?

Thank you for any assistance and for patience. This has been a frustrating experience and so far this seems like an product that is not matured.

Hi Dan.

You have purchased an STR test. Haplogroups are based on SNP tests. Often it is possible to predict a hapolgroup from the type of test you purchased if your STR results match well known patterns in your results. Even then it's just a guess. If you want to known your haplogroup for sure you need carry out SNP tests.

That said FTNDA used provide a free 'backbone' test if your STR results did not closely match any known pattern. Not sure of they still do.

For haplogroup testing the BigY test is an advanced and expensive test whilst the Geno2 test is a more introductory level test. The Y111 test is an advanced STR test but it is not a haplogroup test.

Earl.

Comment

Thank you for responding Earl. I am discouraged by my experience here.

I just read on a FTDNA post:

"A 12-marker match is generally inadequate for genealogy purposes"

All I have are 12 marker matches. None of them are surname matches. Is this the proverbial "brick wall"?

Comment

Originally posted by DanBerk View Post