Full member list not displaying

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Full member list not displaying

I'm an admin on a y-DNA project which includes a number of members who don't have y-DNA tests but who are interested in the surname and in working on confirming or disproving connections between families. They've always appeared in the "Member Information" list with notes against their names to record their interest and their connections. Recently, they've disappeared from the FTDNA listing and I now have no way of identifying or contacting them. Does anyone have a workaround, or has this been reported as a bug?

Are they FTDNA customers?

Comment

Jim, I've just realised that apparently they are not ... I had no idea that it was possible to route a join request through FTDNA without actually having a kit of any sort at all.

Comment

I looked back over my join request. Some don't have kit numbers, but I don't believe they ever showed up on the project member list until they ordered a kit or started a transfer.

Comment

I contacted the most recent person without a kit whose request had been approved, and they said they couldn't actually log in to the project, just kept getting routed back to the "Submit Join Request" page. So I guess they're not really members at all.
          (And the "No. of members" count actually means the no. of approved requests rather than the number of people who have access to the project.)

Comment

By 'project' do you mean a FTDNA Surname Project or do you mean the public website created for the project?

FTDNA kit holders should be able to sign into their kits using their kit ID and password. A kit holder has: purchased a kit or has transferred data from another company. I don't know of any way a non kit holder can submit a join request. I am assuming kit holders and admins are protecting their IDs and passwords.