Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Get error when uploading ANcestryDNA

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • EddyG
    replied
    MapMy23 WORKS

    I, like many others, tried unsuccessfully to upload my raw AncestryDNA results. Each time I received the same error that has already been posted. Three downloads to two different computers using four different browsers--No Joy. I read this thread and tried the link below, and it worked. I had to wait to post this comment until my account was activated for the Forums.

    Thanks to whoever created this workaround.

    Semper Fi

    http://www.mapmy23.com/tools/ancestry_ftdna_fix.php

    Leave a comment:


  • Jim Barrett
    replied
    Originally posted by gloubiboulga View Post
    The Mapmy23 Tool worked for me! Thank you so much, the error message was driving me nuts.

    I'm annoyed with FTDNA, though; why offer a service if, to use it you have to upload your information to a third party tool* to tamper with, with all the security issues it raises?

    *(thanks again to whoever made the tool. My beef is not with them)
    That is amazing. You are mad at FTDNA because Ancestry changed their file so it would no longer work. Why should FTDNA not support the transfer. It still works for the files from Ancestry before Ancestry changed their file. Is there any change that you are mad at the wrong company?

    Leave a comment:


  • ltd-jean-pull
    replied
    Originally posted by gloubiboulga View Post
    The Mapmy23 Tool worked for me! Thank you so much, the error message was driving me nuts.

    I'm annoyed with FTDNA, though; why offer a service if, to use it you have to upload your information to a third party tool* to tamper with, with all the security issues it raises?

    *(thanks again to whoever made the tool. My beef is not with them)
    Let me get this straight. You're annoyed with FamilyTreeDNA that Ancestry changed the format of the DNA file they allow you to download?

    Leave a comment:


  • msc_44
    replied
    If you want to use a 3rd party tool that's on you not them

    Leave a comment:


  • msc_44
    replied
    Originally posted by gloubiboulga View Post
    The Mapmy23 Tool worked for me! Thank you so much, the error message was driving me nuts.

    I'm annoyed with FTDNA, though; why offer a service if, to use it you have to upload your information to a third party tool* to tamper with, with all the security issues it raises?

    *(thanks again to whoever made the tool. My beef is not with them)
    Why would you be annoyed with ftdna because you can't follow instructions they dont support that version and they post that

    Leave a comment:


  • gloubiboulga
    replied
    The Mapmy23 Tool worked for me! Thank you so much, the error message was driving me nuts.

    I'm annoyed with FTDNA, though; why offer a service if, to use it you have to upload your information to a third party tool* to tamper with, with all the security issues it raises?

    *(thanks again to whoever made the tool. My beef is not with them)
    Last edited by gloubiboulga; 26th January 2018, 01:56 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Ann Hayley
    replied
    I've been trying since December 22

    Have used the mapmy23 tool many times and even though I've used it for several kits, it isn't working for this one.
    I've also messaged the Forum contact 2 times and no reply.

    Leave a comment:


  • kdressl
    replied
    Many thanks for the Mapmy23 Tool

    I've been trying for a week to upload an autosomal transfer. I'd downloaded the Ancestry file several times with no luck/ After stumbling across this Thread I tried the tool with success! Thank you very very much.

    Leave a comment:


  • miri
    replied
    Originally posted by ltd-jean-pull View Post
    Perhaps you need to clear your cache. The link works for me.
    How weird. I had cleared my cached and had even switched browsers and was still having the issue. I switched to my phone and could see the page just fine! I had to use the mapmy23 program, but I was able to get my file uploaded. Thanks!

    Leave a comment:


  • rebecky
    replied
    Error uploading Ancestry Zip file

    I've received an error message for months that my ancestry results were incompatible to upload to FamilyTreeDNA. I used the mapmy23 link provided in this forum yesterday and voila! the resulting zip file worked. Now, I have not confirmed whether the results provided are correct; maybe others of you have? It certainly would have been better for Ancestry or FamilyTreeDNA to have "officially" fixed the bug but, for now, this is all I have to work with. Thank you to whomever developed the mapmy23 program.

    Leave a comment:


  • ltd-jean-pull
    replied
    Originally posted by miri View Post
    I still just get a "we are down" message when I click on the Autosomal Transfer link.

    https://www.familytreedna.com/autosomal-transfer

    "Our website is currently undergoing maintenance to improve the quality and performance of our site.
    Please check back soon!"
    Perhaps you need to clear your cache. The link works for me.

    Leave a comment:


  • miri
    replied
    Originally posted by ltd-jean-pull View Post
    My matches wouldn't load for a while yesterday. It may have been at the same time the Autosomal Transfer page was down.

    My matches are loading today.

    Although you haven't had to convert your Ancestry file before in order to upload it to FamilyTreeDNA you may well have to now, due to changes that Ancestry have made in recent months.
    I still just get a "we are down" message when I click on the Autosomal Transfer link.

    https://www.familytreedna.com/autosomal-transfer

    "Our website is currently undergoing maintenance to improve the quality and performance of our site.
    Please check back soon!"

    Leave a comment:


  • ltd-jean-pull
    replied
    Originally posted by marci View Post
    I got a reply from support. Seems we should start complaining to Ancestry.
    This issue has been discussed at length in this thread Marci, and the suggestion (in this thread) is that you try this tool to make your Ancestry DNA downloaded file compatible with FamilyTreeDNA.

    http://www.mapmy23.com/tools/ancestry_ftdna_fix.php

    Leave a comment:


  • ltd-jean-pull
    replied
    Originally posted by miri View Post
    No, I've never had to do that in the past.

    Even if I did that, I still wouldn't be able to upload a file since the Autosomal Transfer page is down. I'm just wondering if anyone else is experiencing this.

    My matches wouldn't load for a while yesterday. It may have been at the same time the Autosomal Transfer page was down.

    My matches are loading today.

    Although you haven't had to convert your Ancestry file before in order to upload it to FamilyTreeDNA you may well have to now, due to changes that Ancestry have made in recent months.
    Last edited by ltd-jean-pull; 22nd January 2018, 09:07 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • marci
    replied
    I heard from support.....

    I got a reply from support. Seems we should start complaining to Ancestry.


    Hello,

    Thanks for contacting us. Unfortunately, Ancestry has changed their file format and the data appears to be incomplete, and so cannot be used by our own algorithms. Our algorithms are sensitive to any data changes, and small changes can make a huge difference in your results. We will never post results that we cannot stand behind with 100% confidence, and so at this time we will not be able to accept your transfer.

    At first, we advised customers to contact Ancestry to have them regenerate new raw data files. This worked at first, but my understanding (from what I have heard from customers) is that they are now refusing to do so. Because the format is different, we are unable to accept new transfers at this time (it does not appear to be a full-scale change, as some customers are still able to upload their files).

    Because this is our busiest time of year, and we are also making many changes and upgrades to our own tests, we do not expect to have a solution for at least a month or two into the new year. I apologize for the inconvenience.

    Thanks,


    Lyla
    Information Specialist
    Family Tree DNA

    Leave a comment:

Working...
X