Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ukrainian ancestry anyone?

Hi
    Total newbie here, waiting for my family finder lab results.
    Parents came to the UK as refugees from Ukraine after the war.

I am interested to hear from anybody in a similar position who has already gone through this process. Parents now deceased.

Am excited to see my origins.

Any help or advice on this matter greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Do you also have a brother who could take a Y-DNA test?

Comment

Also Ukrainian origin of refugees coming to UK

Hi Stefi,

I am also of Ukrainian ancestry with grandparents on my mother's side and a father coming from Ukraine to the UK after the war. I grew up in the UK in the Ukrainian community and now live in Canada.

There is a Ukrainian DNA project on here you could join where you might be able to find out more. Where in the UK did your family settle? I know a lot settled in the Bradford and Manchester areas and there are still active Ukrainian communities in the UK.

My origins came back mostly Eastern European but I also had Finnish and North west Siberian as well as Balkan area. However, there has been a lot of migration among people in the area now in Ukraine over the centuries as well.

Feel free to message me if you have any further questions.

Comment

Earlier Ukrainian Ancestry

My father was born in Bukovina in 1913 and came to Canada with his family in 1914, just a few months before the outbreak of WW1. Although they are ethnic Ukrainians, they always referred to themselves as Austrian, as they were born under the reign of the Austro-Hungarian empire.

I have done both the autosomal and yDNA test, as well as the mtDNA, although my mother's line is Irish. So far I have not had much luck in the way of finding any more recent cousins in Ukraine, but I think that is probably due to the fact that so few Ukrainians have probably done the tests.