Deep Clade Offer M172, once again

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Deep Clade Offer M172, once again

Hi, I also have a question about the recent $99 offer for J2 / M172 deep clade testing. I'm not an expert DNA genealogy sleuth, only have a rudimentary knowledge about this, so please excuse the inexact language. About 3 years ago I had a Y37 test, and my halpogroup result was J2. Like other J2's, I was a bit disappointed that my results didn't go any further up the "tree". If I understand correctly, the new $99 offer would test a bunch of SNP's to see if my DNA could now be identified with a more specific subclade, one that might tell me a little more about my paternal line origins (I'm especially interested in geographic regions associated with specific subclades, the more narrow the better).

If I understand correctly, there is no guarantee. I could pay the $99 and the results could still be "J2", as all the subclade tests could be negative. So I'm wondering, what are the chances that this new test will tell me something that the earlier "backbone" classification test didn't? Has a lot more J category subclade knowledge been gained over the past few years? Why shouldn't I wait 5 years until even more subclades for J2 might be known? I'm a casual FTDNA customer regarding Y testing, mostly just interested in geographic and possible ethnic specificity, as close to the modern age as possible. So is this test for me? Thanks for any thoughts. Jim G

The first thing to do, if you haven't already, is to join the appropriate haplogroup project. For J2, that would be https://www.familytreedna.com/public/Y-DNA_J/ or https://www.familytreedna.com/groups/j2-m172/about or both.