Go Back   Family Tree DNA Forums > General Interest > The Genographic Project

The Genographic Project Do you have results from Genographic? Are you considering testing with them? This board is open to customers and visitors.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 7th February 2008, 08:38 PM
GhostX GhostX is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 237
Which FTDNA results transfer to GP?

I was just about to transfer my preliminary Y-DNA1-12 and HVR1 and HVR2 test results from FTDNA to the Genographic Project (using the function in FTDNA's personal page), when something occurred to me...

I am still waiting on the results of my Y-DNA13-67 and my deep clade R1b1c and H tests. Should I wait until all those results are in before I transfer my results to GP, or do only the basic markers transfer over? I am somewhat anxious to confirm whether GP will confirm FTDNA's haplogroup assignment estimate.

The description for the transfer on the FTDNA personal page says that "you will be able to upload your 12-marker results and/or your mtDNA to the Genographic Project," but I'm wondering if that wording changes once you have more panel results available.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 7th February 2008, 10:15 PM
darroll darroll is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostX
The description for the transfer on the FTDNA personal page says that "you will be able to upload your 12-marker results and/or your mtDNA to the Genographic Project," but I'm wondering if that wording changes once you have more panel results available.

You can transfer your test results to NG at any time or as many times as you wish. d
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th February 2008, 11:23 PM
efgen efgen is offline
Webinar Coordinator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,298
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostX
The description for the transfer on the FTDNA personal page says that "you will be able to upload your 12-marker results and/or your mtDNA to the Genographic Project," but I'm wondering if that wording changes once you have more panel results available.
Genographic only uses 12 markers, HVR1 and backbone haplogroups for its study, so it doesn't matter what else you've tested.

Contrary to Darroll's statement, you cannot transfer your results "as many times as you wish". You transfer your Y-DNA and mtDNA once, and you'll be assigned a Genographic Project ID so you can access your personal Genographic Project results page at any time. One thing I don't know is whether you'll be given a single Genographic Project ID to access both your Y-DNA and mtDNA, or whether you'll be given a separate ID for each.

Elise
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th February 2008, 08:01 AM
GhostX GhostX is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 237
Thanks Elise, that is very helpful info!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th February 2008, 03:29 PM
R2-D2 R2-D2 is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by efgen
Genographic only uses 12 markers, HVR1 and backbone haplogroups for its study, so it doesn't matter what else you've tested.

Contrary to Darroll's statement, you cannot transfer your results "as many times as you wish". You transfer your Y-DNA and mtDNA once, and you'll be assigned a Genographic Project ID so you can access your personal Genographic Project results page at any time. One thing I don't know is whether you'll be given a single Genographic Project ID to access both your Y-DNA and mtDNA, or whether you'll be given a separate ID for each.

Elise
You get a separate code for each. I started out with GP and then transferred to FTDNA. When I had my mtDNA done I uploaded that to GP and received another code.

GP doesn't use all of the subclades, yet... I am R1b at GP, when I transferred to FTDNA they estimated me to be R1b1. I had FTDNA's Deep SNP test for R1b and they determined me to be R1b1c. Then I had some more SNPs tested with EthnoAncestry (EA) that are only available through them and they determined me to be R1b1c9. Later on this year FTDNA will start offering all but one of those SNPs that EA tests for (S68 has no equivalent yet).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th February 2008, 05:15 PM
darroll darroll is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by efgen
Genographic only uses 12 markers, HVR1 and backbone haplogroups for its study, so it doesn't matter what else you've tested.

Contrary to Darroll's statement, you cannot transfer your results "as many times as you wish". You transfer your Y-DNA and mtDNA once, and you'll be assigned a Genographic Project ID so you can access your personal Genographic Project results page at any time. One thing I don't know is whether you'll be given a single Genographic Project ID to access both your Y-DNA and mtDNA, or whether you'll be given a separate ID for each.

Elise
Whenever I get new test results back I have the option to send the information to NG. I have had all the tests possible, done. Still waiting for the HVR2 results. I will forward these to NG also. Don't know what happens to the data, someone takes it. You have to have separate passwords for
the MTDNA and Y-DNA. d
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th February 2008, 05:48 PM
efgen efgen is offline
Webinar Coordinator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,298
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by darroll
Whenever I get new test results back I have the option to send the information to NG. I have had all the tests possible, done. Still waiting for the HVR2 results. I will forward these to NG also. Don't know what happens to the data, someone takes it. You have to have separate passwords for
the MTDNA and Y-DNA. d
Darroll,

That's Ysearch and Mitosearch that you can upload all your results to. Not the Genographic Project.

Elise
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th February 2008, 08:33 PM
darroll darroll is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 714
Elise,
I will give you the benefit of doubt on this one.
Next month I will pay attention when I share the results with who/ever.
I just don't like to share with folks that "sell" my/our DNA. Also some share their results ... but... make it so you can't contact them. One of these was a perfect match, I have no idea who they are?
Thanks, dc
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10th February 2008, 01:17 PM
GhostX GhostX is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by R2-D2
I am R1b at GP, when I transferred to FTDNA they estimated me to be R1b1. I had FTDNA's Deep SNP test for R1b and they determined me to be R1b1c. Then I had some more SNPs tested with EthnoAncestry (EA) that are only available through them and they determined me to be R1b1c9. Later on this year FTDNA will start offering all but one of those SNPs that EA tests for (S68 has no equivalent yet).
I was about to order a Y-DNA deep clade test (I'm currently R1b1c) from FTDNA, as they already have my DNA. Given what you just said about how FTDNA is going to be adding SNP's, should I go ahead and order the deep clade test now, or wait until later this year?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10th February 2008, 01:36 PM
darroll darroll is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 714
Go for it.
FTDNA knows what they are doing. d
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Family Tree DNA - World Headquarters

1445 North Loop West, Suite 820
Houston, Texas 77008, USA

Phone: (713) 868-1438 | Fax: (832) 201-7147
Copyright 2001-2010 Genealogy by Genetics, Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.