Go Back   Family Tree DNA Forums > Family Tree DNA Communications > Features Requests & Bug Reports Area

Features Requests & Bug Reports Area This forum is for customers to talk about features they would like to see. It may also be used to report potential website issues and account bugs, though you may get faster service by sending those through the Open a Request feature found in the Customer Service link at the top of the forum page.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61  
Old 18th August 2017, 07:09 PM
CFegley CFegley is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 10
downloaded new data files.
extracted the files.
opened extracted file in notepad++
corrected line 3.
replaced original file with corrected file.
compressed file back into a zipped folder.
uploaded to familytreedna.com/autosomal-transfer.

Now, instead of "corrupt/malformed" it just says it could not be uploaded.

What am I doing wrong?????
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 18th August 2017, 08:44 PM
prairielad prairielad is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,727
Why do you need to correct what is written in file?

Ancestry files should upload to FTDNA without modification now that they have started accepting their latest chip version

Download Ancestry zipped file and save, then upload to FTDNA with out unzipping.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 18th August 2017, 08:50 PM
prairielad prairielad is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,727
CFegley I read some of the older posts in this thread and see some people are having issues with Ancestry file (unaltered one) failing to upload.

So if that is your issue, I understand your need to try and modify...
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 19th August 2017, 09:20 AM
Parameswara Parameswara is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by prairielad View Post
Why do you need to correct what is written in file?

Ancestry files should upload to FTDNA without modification now that they have started accepting their latest chip version

Download Ancestry zipped file and save, then upload to FTDNA with out unzipping.
http://forums.familytreedna.com/show...6&postcount=27
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 19th August 2017, 04:59 PM
CFegley CFegley is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 10
Been there, done that. Didn't work!
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 20th August 2017, 10:40 PM
mpaloutz mpaloutz is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 1
Change 1 to 2

I was having the same problems and error message as described. I found this thread. I opened the data file, change the "1" to "2", saved it, uploaded it and it worked. You don't even have to recompress. It will accept either .zip or .txt files.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 21st August 2017, 06:25 AM
sunkeeper sunkeeper is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 83
I've tried all the different answers to the problem, even downloaded notepad++ to see if that worked but nope, nothing works. Changed line 3 and added in diagnostic. Any other suggestions?
#AncestryDNA raw data download
#This file was generated by AncestryDNA at: 08/16/2017 17:35:11 UTC
#Data was collected using AncestryDNA array version: V2.0
#Data is formatted using AncestryDNA converter version: V1.0
#Below is a text version of your DNA file from Ancestry.com DNA, LLC. THIS
#INFORMATION IS FOR YOUR PERSONAL USE AND IS INTENDED FOR GENEALOGICAL RESEARCH
#ONLY. IT IS NOT INTENDED FOR MEDICAL, DIAGNOSTIC, OR HEALTH PURPOSES. THE EXPORTED DATA IS
#SUBJECT TO THE AncestryDNA TERMS AND CONDITIONS, BUT PLEASE BE AWARE THAT THE
#DOWNLOADED DATA WILL NO LONGER BE PROTECTED BY OUR SECURITY MEASURES.
#WHEN YOU DOWNLOAD YOUR RAW DNA DATA, YOU ASSUME ALL RISK OF STORING,
#SECURING AND PROTECTING YOUR DATA. FOR MORE INFORMATION, SEE ANCESTRYDNA FAQS.
#
#Genetic data is provided below as five TAB delimited columns. Each line
#corresponds to a SNP. Column one provides the SNP identifier (rsID where
#possible). Columns two and three contain the chromosome and basepair position
#of the SNP using human reference build 37.1 coordinates. Columns four and five
#contain the two alleles observed at this SNP (genotype). The genotype is reported
#on the forward (+) strand with respect to the human reference.
rsid chromosome position allele1 allele2
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 21st August 2017, 08:42 AM
CFegley CFegley is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpaloutz View Post
I was having the same problems and error message as described. I found this thread. I opened the data file, change the "1" to "2", saved it, uploaded it and it worked. You don't even have to recompress. It will accept either .zip or .txt files.
I don't get it! I've tried everything and it doesn't work!
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 22nd August 2017, 04:28 PM
Runwithit Runwithit is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 18
This worked for me

Big thanks to Ann for posting the solution, for those of you where it is still not working, I did the following,

1) Download your raw data from ancestry
2) Extract the .txt file from the zip file
3) Open the .txt file (it will take a while to load because there are so many lines)
4) Select ALL of the lines that start with #
5) Delete all of the lines that you just selected
6) Paste the following lines into the .txt document at the top so that they 'replace' all of the lines you just deleted:

#AncestryDNA raw data download
#This file was generated by AncestryDNA at: 05/28/2017 23:32:38 UTC
#Data was collected using AncestryDNA array version: V2.0
#Data is formatted using AncestryDNA converter version: V1.0
#Below is a text version of your DNA file from Ancestry.com DNA, LLC. THIS
#INFORMATION IS FOR YOUR PERSONAL USE AND IS INTENDED FOR GENEALOGICAL RESEARCH
#ONLY. IT IS NOT INTENDED FOR MEDICAL, DIAGNOSTIC, OR HEALTH PURPOSES. THE EXPORTED DATA IS

7) Save the file (it will take a little while to save because the file is quite big)
8) Re-upload the file to FTDNA like you did before

The above worked for me, my end file size was 17,685kb so file size doesn't make a difference. I agree it sucks that you have to do this, but who cares if it works and it's free

Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 23rd August 2017, 03:30 AM
timrogers timrogers is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 1
How to up load

Can someone please advise at to where I can find instructions on how to upload an Ancestry mtdna file. Where can it be found in FTDNA site.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AncestryDNA Upload Error... ibuprophen Features Requests & Bug Reports Area 1 25th August 2014 10:59 PM
Y-DNA from AncestryDNA? outland Paternal Lineage (Y-DNA STR) Advanced 2 29th June 2013 05:44 AM
23andMe or AncestryDNA next? Pied_Noir DNA and Genealogy for Beginners 21 25th January 2013 12:28 PM
AncestryDNA Swennilsson DNA and Genealogy for Beginners 268 31st August 2012 08:48 PM
PF vs AncestryDNA briancowings Family Finder Advanced Topics 11 27th June 2012 12:10 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Family Tree DNA - World Headquarters

1445 North Loop West, Suite 820
Houston, Texas 77008, USA

Phone: (713) 868-1438 | Fax: (832) 201-7147
Copyright 2001-2010 Genealogy by Genetics, Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.