Go Back   Family Tree DNA Forums > Family Tree DNA Communications > Grumbles & Gripes

Grumbles & Gripes This is a place for free and open grumbling, griping, and venting about anything and everything about DNA, companies, and genealogy that irks you. You may even come here to complain about the Forums and how they are run.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th July 2018, 12:19 AM
Anthony H Anthony H is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1
Add a Feature on myFamilyTree Allowing Users to Export the Information as a GEDCOM

I would love to be able to export the genealogical information that I have entered in myFamilyTree to a GEDCOM. Perhaps in the near future, FamilyTreeDNA could add that feature to its "family tree building" system.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th July 2018, 06:10 AM
Jim Barrett Jim Barrett is offline
R-BY39877
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Timpson, TX
Posts: 2,260
My personal opinion is that you would be MUCH better off using a genealogy program on your computer to maintain your information. This gives you full control of your data. It would be much easier to make corrections and additions. You could create your own GEDCOMs which could replace what you have at FTDNA.

There a several free genealogy programs you can use to do this. Any of them will do much more than FTDNA will provide.

Let FTDNA do what they do best. Test your DNA and look for matches. Let a company that builds genealogy programs provide your genealogy program.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th July 2018, 06:26 AM
spruithean spruithean is online now
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Barrett View Post
My personal opinion is that you would be MUCH better off using a genealogy program on your computer to maintain your information. This gives you full control of your data. It would be much easier to make corrections and additions. You could create your own GEDCOMs which could replace what you have at FTDNA.

There a several free genealogy programs you can use to do this. Any of them will do much more than FTDNA will provide.

Let FTDNA do what they do best. Test your DNA and look for matches. Let a company that builds genealogy programs provide your genealogy program.
Agreed!

It is far more reliable to use a genealogy program on your own computer and not through FTDNA's family tree tool. For various reasons such as: security and various tools that come with using a verified personal genealogy program (Reunion for Apple, Legacy Family Tree Maker, Family Historian, Gramps, etc).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th July 2018, 08:29 AM
travers travers is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony H View Post
I would love to be able to export the genealogical information that I have entered in myFamilyTree to a GEDCOM. Perhaps in the near future, FamilyTreeDNA could add that feature to its "family tree building" system.
You might be able to do this with 3rd party software, although it might take a little work and I've never tried this.

First you would convert your myFamilyTree to Ahnentafel format with this tool you download into your Chrome browser:
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/d...kfliochkojkaej

Then you would need to convert the Ahnentafel file into a Gedcom using this tool:
http://blog.kittycooper.com/2015/12/...com-converter/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th July 2018, 01:38 PM
Alexandrina Alexandrina is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 140
No it does not work at FTDNA - DNArboretum

First you would convert your myFamilyTree to Ahnentafel format with this tool you download into your Chrome browser:
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/d...kfliochkojkaej

Then you would need to convert the Ahnentafel file into a Gedcom using this tool:
http://blog.kittycooper.com/2015/12/...com-converter/[/QUOTE]

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th July 2018, 02:42 PM
travers travers is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexandrina View Post
No it does not work at FTDNA - DNArboretum
I've had the DNArboretum tool since it came out, it works for me at FTDNA.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th July 2018, 01:26 PM
MoberlyDrake MoberlyDrake is offline
mtDNA: T2b5 | Y-DNA: J-M172
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,530
I don't think anyone should have their main research on an online tree. You should have it in a genealogy program on your computer. RootsMagic has a free version you can download and try to see if you like it. I believe there are several others that have free trials or versions. Download 2 or 3 and see which one you like best.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
hagglund
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Feature request: export gedcom file from family tree. dholeman Features Requests & Bug Reports Area 2 29th December 2016 06:54 AM
myFamilyTree to GEDCOM fmoakes Family Finder Basics 3 9th February 2015 12:06 AM
GAP Feature Request: Member Information report - needs Last Active column flanged Features Requests & Bug Reports Area 3 30th January 2015 12:05 AM
myFamilyTree & GEDCOM markarslan Family Finder Basics 5 24th December 2014 08:02 AM
Need help with GEDCOM feature LTV Family Finder Advanced Topics 1 8th September 2013 12:43 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Family Tree DNA - World Headquarters

1445 North Loop West, Suite 820
Houston, Texas 77008, USA

Phone: (713) 868-1438 | Fax: (832) 201-7147
Copyright 2001-2010 Genealogy by Genetics, Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.