Go Back   Family Tree DNA Forums > General Interest > DNA and Genealogy for Beginners

DNA and Genealogy for Beginners Everything you wanted to know about DNA and Genealogy but didn't know where to ask. This board is open to customers and visitors.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16th July 2017, 06:39 AM
tartanswan tartanswan is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7
I personally have 2 sets of data with FTDna but..

I did a mTDna test back in 2007 with the Genealogical Project, so I believe my log onto FTDna is that one. But I uploaded my autosomal DNA from Ancestry and paid the upgrade fee, so have 2 sets of data with FTDna.
I am trying to upload to Genome Mate Pro and have found my kit number (not my log on number) in someone else's icw file, but my question is how do I know which set of data this kit number is for?
Having uploaded others DNA I manage to FTDna, their kit numbers have an extra digit to mine, so I am suspecting that mine is from the mTDna but I don't have anyway of telling.
When I contact FTDna all they wanted to do was give me a link to change my password!!!!
Any guidance would be appreciated!
Lesley
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16th July 2017, 08:33 AM
ech124 ech124 is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 162
I am not entirely sure what your situation is, but I think you are saying you have 2 kits representing the same person, both transferred into FTDNA.

If a kit was originally done at FTDNA, they use a number sytem increasing numerically based on time of purchase. I have seen some very old kits under 10,000, some medium age under 99,999 and the majority as six digit numbers over 100,000.

If it is a transfer kit, it should start with a letter. If it came from National Geographic, it should start with N. If it came from Ancestry it should start with B.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th July 2017, 10:21 AM
tartanswan tartanswan is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7
Yes I have the Nxxxx kit from 2007 but on my dashboard page, the other transferred data from Ancestry is there too.

I think I'm just having to go back to GMP to check everything there!
Lesley
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th July 2017, 11:25 AM
John McCoy John McCoy is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 484
"ICW" is In Common With, it's my understanding that report only applies to autosomal DNA, such as the Family Finder or the autosomal DNA data transfer from other vendors.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compare two sets of Geno 2.0 raw data? e-burger The Genographic Project 13 27th July 2015 03:24 PM
What build is the FTDNA FF DATA? dello DNA and Genealogy for Beginners 3 17th August 2014 01:18 PM
Uploading 23andMe raw data to FTDNA Macarthropod DNA and Genealogy for Beginners 0 8th March 2013 10:39 PM
FTDNA - add one more piece of data JohnG Family Finder Advanced Topics 8 6th April 2011 09:33 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Family Tree DNA - World Headquarters

1445 North Loop West, Suite 820
Houston, Texas 77008, USA

Phone: (713) 868-1438 | Fax: (832) 201-7147
Copyright 2001-2010 Genealogy by Genetics, Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.