Go Back   Family Tree DNA Forums > General Interest > DNA Success Stories

DNA Success Stories How DNA helped solve a family brick wall. We encourage you to publish your story here. This board is open to customers and visitors.

Old 19th January 2016, 12:51 AM
FTDNA Customer

How many people have found a biological parent via family finder?

I am new to family tree and just wondered how many people have actually found a biological parent using family finder? I am still waiting for my test results but, a little background on me- I only know my biological mother'8s family. I am really just looking for ethnicity so I know what I am and where I come from but, if I happen to find any of my biological father's family, then that would just be a welcomed bonus!
Old 19th January 2016, 01:55 AM
FTDNA Customer

There have certainly been a few, but statistically it's a long shot. Stay positive.

Below is post from a few years ago.
http://forums.familytreedna.com/showthread.php?t=33178
http://adoptiondna.blogspot.com/2013...mother-by.html

and another
http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/real-li...tracks-3691421

Last edited by thetick; 19th January 2016 at 02:10 AM.
Old 20th January 2016, 03:17 PM
FTDNA Customer

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShanWoods View Post
I am new to family tree and just wondered how many people have actually found a biological parent using family finder? I am still waiting for my test results but, a little background on me- I only know my biological mother'8s family. I am really just looking for ethnicity so I know what I am and where I come from but, if I happen to find any of my biological father's family, then that would just be a welcomed bonus!
Not a parent, but definitely a relative, turns out to be a 1/2 3rd cousin to my mother. My mom is now 72 and I found the connection last July, didn't get in touch with relatives until late October. Of course the chances of my mother's parents being alive were slim but I knew that.