• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • varlene
    FTDNA Customer
    • Apr 2007

Surname Projects to include females

Family Tree DNA states: "Surname projects can use Family Finder to better define branches in a family tree. By using Family Finder testing, close Y-chromosome and mtDNA matches without traditional records may be assigned to a pedigree with greater confidence. Even more exciting, surname projects may now bring female cousins into the project as additional evidence."
    -- It is exciting that female cousins can enter into the surname projects which traditionally have been open only to males. I am looking forward to the possibility of finding my Cassidy roots and hope that Family Tree DNA will move ahead with this as quickly as possible. I would like to encourage others who feel the same to let Family Tree know.
  • rivergirl
    FTDNA Customer
    • Jul 2006

As a project admin, I have no idea how family finder is going to work within a surname project. I have enough trouble getting the men to provide a lineage, let alone sort out matches from famiy finder..
    Females are quite welcome in my surname project, but I will leave it to the individual to sort out family finder matches.

Comment

• sabram
      • May 2006

As a female who's never been able to enter a surname project until now, I would love to be able to use my FamilyFinder results to enter.

But I see issues. I have a lengthy paper trail with about 90 total surnames. Obviously some of those ancestors are quite remote from me. Would an administrator really want me to join his project because I had an ancestor with the project surname in 1600--but not more recently? And do I really want to be participating in 90 projects? And surely I have some non-paternity events somewhere in my line, which would not only confuse matters for that surname but for every surname further up the line.