Go Back   Family Tree DNA Forums > Universal Lineage Testing (Autosomal DNA) > Family Finder Advanced Topics

Family Finder Advanced Topics Advanced discussion about Family Tree DNA's Family Finder Product.

Old 18th December 2011, 04:27 AM

Question Will a YDNA test brake down a FFDNA test

Merry Christmas every one. I am a newbie on here and have a question for those clever people out there.
I have recently received my FFDNA test results done on myself and I have no close matches only 4th and 5th possible remote cousins. Because I canít define which side is which would I be correct in thinking if I asked my brother to take a Y test comparing his results with mine I would be able to brake my results down confirming my fatherís side leaving the rest as my motherís side.
Thanks Lorraine
Old 18th December 2011, 04:54 AM
FTDNA Customer

Family Finder uses autosmal chromosomes rather than the sex chromsomes.

If you can't test your parents, then testing their siblings (your uncles and aunts) would be the next best thing to help sort one side from the other.
Old 28th December 2011, 06:43 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lorraine View Post
Merry Christmas every one. I am a newbie on here and have a question for those clever people out there.
I have recently received my FFDNA test results done on myself and I have no close matches only 4th and 5th possible remote cousins. Because I canít define which side is which would I be correct in thinking if I asked my brother to take a Y test comparing his results with mine I would be able to brake my results down confirming my fatherís side leaving the rest as my motherís side.
Thanks Lorraine
How long did it take you to get your FF results back?
Old 28th December 2011, 07:36 PM
FTDNA Customer

I don't know about Lorraine, but my results and that of both my parents only took about 3 weeks, it was in weeks before the due date.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xolotl View Post
How long did it take you to get your FF results back?