Go Back   Family Tree DNA Forums > Family Tree DNA Communications > Features Requests & Bug Reports Area

Features Requests & Bug Reports Area This forum is for customers to talk about features they would like to see. It may also be used to report potential website issues and account bugs, though you may get faster service by sending those through the Open a Request feature found in the Customer Service link at the top of the forum page.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th October 2014, 05:08 PM
Bonnie Bonnie is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
View pedigree?

Anyone know how to view one's own uploaded pedigree on ftdna account?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th October 2014, 07:03 PM
keigh keigh is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 461
Have you tried going to your Family Tree page and clicking on Ancestry View, that should give you a pedigree view going back 15 generations?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th October 2014, 08:32 PM
Bonnie Bonnie is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Thank you.

When I go to Settings/Genealogy, there is a Family Tree option, but it only provides Options, and I see nothing about an Ancestry view.

When I go to My DNA/myfamilytree, I am just seeing something spinning in the center as if it is processing, and it doesn't open up anything (glitchy, I guess). There is a Family View thing in the lower left of that screen, but clicking on it does nothing.

Thanks for trying, anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th October 2014, 10:25 PM
dna dna is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2,673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bonnie View Post
[----] When I go to My DNA/myfamilytree, I am just seeing something spinning in the center as if it is processing, and it doesn't open up anything (glitchy, I guess). There is a Family View thing in the lower left of that screen, but clicking on it does nothing. [----]
If that happens to you, try to logout, close all the browser windows and start anew.

Or just wait no more than 10 seconds (compare to the time it takes other trees to display on your computer) and hit the back button on your browser. And just go for the tree again. Repeat as required...

I know that it is not a solution, but I have realized at some point that I can display all the trees, but not necessarily when I want ;-(

P.S. There should be emoticons for sad and crying, but there aren't ;-(
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th October 2014, 12:08 AM
efgen efgen is offline
Webinar Coordinator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,298
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bonnie View Post
When I go to My DNA/myfamilytree, I am just seeing something spinning in the center as if it is processing, and it doesn't open up anything (glitchy, I guess). There is a Family View thing in the lower left of that screen, but clicking on it does nothing.
There's a glitch currently affecting every kit that doesn't have a tree uploaded or created yet. The issue has been reported to our IT department, and I hope it'll be fixed early in the week since it's affecting so many kits.

However, did you say that you've already uploaded a tree? If so, your kit may be having a different issue. You can report the issue to Customer Support by email, and they'll check into it during the week, once they get to your email in the queue. Select Other Topics, then Technical on the Contact page:

http://www.familytreedna.com/contact.aspx

Elise
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th October 2014, 11:29 AM
Bonnie Bonnie is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
I believe I had uploaded a tree, but I do not see how to ascertain that.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th October 2014, 06:43 PM
efgen efgen is offline
Webinar Coordinator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,298
Blog Entries: 1
Bonnie,

Normally, if there's a tree uploaded, you would be able to see the tree and a preview box at the top right. But neither of those are displaying on pages that have the glitch.

I would go ahead and report the issue to Customer Support just in case your issue is different from the known issue with kits that don't have a tree yet.

Elise
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pedigree errors buckbeach Group Administrators - Advanced Chat 10 20th February 2014 07:37 PM
Pedigree Chart Bob1 mtDNA - Genealogy Basics 1 31st December 2013 05:08 PM
maternal pedigree nekocat mtDNA - Advanced Topics 1 9th October 2008 08:07 PM
YSearch new Pedigree feature A.Hunt Paternal Lineage (Y-DNA STR) Advanced 7 2nd September 2004 03:44 PM
How do you handle your Pedigree Info? MysTree Group Administrators - Advanced Chat 5 4th May 2003 01:19 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 AM.


Family Tree DNA - World Headquarters

1445 North Loop West, Suite 820
Houston, Texas 77008, USA

Phone: (713) 868-1438 | Fax: (832) 201-7147
Copyright 2001-2010 Genealogy by Genetics, Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.