Go Back   Family Tree DNA Forums > Group Administrators Forums > Group Administrators - New and Begining Admins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19th January 2018, 06:43 PM
penguin penguin is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 493
second administator

Does the second administrator also have to have a paid kit to be an admin? I set up a new project and invited someone to also be an admin. He wants to, but is he allowed to without his own kit? And since it looks like i will have to therefore get him one, i missed all the sales...any discounts anyone know of? thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24th January 2018, 07:42 PM
The_Contemplator The_Contemplator is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 833
I don't know if a would-be admin needs a kit. But you could always transfer an existing autosomal DNA from another place or get the FF. If you remember the old holiday coupon spreadsheet. Go to it and find a link for a discount for the FF.

You could always contact FTDNA to see what they say.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th January 2018, 02:47 PM
loobster loobster is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 614
They will probably have another sale in April for DNA Day, if not before - it will probably be a short lived one, so be prepared and jump quickly -- if you are willing to wait, and if a kit is (as I suspect) required.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th January 2018, 10:00 AM
penguin penguin is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 493
ok thanks much to both of you. does look like a kit is required. he's listed now as an admin- but can't get on since he doesnt' have an account. Anyway, i want to now buy a kit for him using project funds as the prices seem good today (!) - but having trouble selecting the kit i want. I will start on a new post on that.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th January 2018, 03:27 PM
loobster loobster is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by penguin View Post
ok thanks much to both of you. does look like a kit is required. he's listed now as an admin- but can't get on since he doesnt' have an account. Anyway, i want to now buy a kit for him using project funds as the prices seem good today (!) - but having trouble selecting the kit i want. I will start on a new post on that.
I hope you mean selecting the test you want - you do not want to be using any already existing kit for a test on a new person.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Family Tree DNA - World Headquarters

1445 North Loop West, Suite 820
Houston, Texas 77008, USA

Phone: (713) 868-1438 | Fax: (832) 201-7147
Copyright 2001-2010 Genealogy by Genetics, Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.