Go Back   Family Tree DNA Forums > Family Tree DNA Communications > Announcements and New Features

Announcements and New Features Announcements of changes at Family Tree DNA and to the FTDNA website. This is also for general communications by FTDNA staff.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th July 2017, 03:53 PM
Nana Pam Nana Pam is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 3
FTDNA & 23andme

I have done the Family Finder test on Family Tree, and did the $99 test on 23andme. It gave me my haplogroup, which of course was the same as my daughters on Family Tree. Is there a way to upload my results from 23andme to Family Tree?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th July 2017, 04:43 PM
KATM KATM is online now
mtDNA: K1a3 | Y-DNA: R-L1308*
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Mid-Atlantic coast, U.S.A.
Posts: 768
Yes, you can upload your 23andMe file to FamilyTreeDNA, but it will not transfer your haplogroup, just the autosomal results. 23andMe tests only enough markers to get a basic haplogroup, and it is not as in-depth as FTDNA's tests for either Y or mtDNA.

Here is FTDNA's page for transferring. You'll get access to all your matches for free, but would need to pay $19 to get access to all the tools (chromosome browser, myOrigins, etc.). Note: if you tested with 23andMe's version 3 chip, it is more compatible with FTDNA's chip, and you will see more matches, including distant and speculative. If you tested on their version 4 chip, your matches will be closer (about up to 3rd, maybe 4th cousin level). This is because 23andMe changed their chip to cover more health markers, and the overlap with FTDNA is less now.

If you wanted to see as many matches as possible at FTDNA, you would need to pay for a kit for a Family Finder test and submit your DNA to FTDNA.

Last edited by KATM; 13th July 2017 at 04:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th July 2017, 07:24 AM
Jim Barrett Jim Barrett is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Timpson, TX
Posts: 1,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nana Pam View Post
I have done the Family Finder test on Family Tree, and did the $99 test on 23andme. It gave me my haplogroup, which of course was the same as my daughters on Family Tree. Is there a way to upload my results from 23andme to Family Tree?
You can not transfer your 23andMe data to your current FTDNA account that has Family Finder. The transfer will create a second account for you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th July 2017, 02:29 PM
KATM KATM is online now
mtDNA: K1a3 | Y-DNA: R-L1308*
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Mid-Atlantic coast, U.S.A.
Posts: 768
Oops, I misread the original post. Thanks for catching that, Jim Barrett.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FTDNA compared to 23andMe jtoml3 myOrigins Basics 1 9th April 2015 05:13 PM
Different predictions - FTDNA vs. 23andMe dreimiller Y-DNA Haplogroups & SNPs Advanced 20 2nd June 2013 08:55 PM
FTDNA vrs 23andMe JamesBianco Paternal Lineage (Y-DNA STR) Advanced 5 7th September 2011 02:48 PM
23andMe vs FTDNA - Opinions please. shandy4473 Family Finder Advanced Topics 44 4th June 2011 04:55 PM
FTDNA and 23andMe Chips tomcat Family Finder Advanced Topics 8 1st December 2010 03:00 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Family Tree DNA - World Headquarters

1445 North Loop West, Suite 820
Houston, Texas 77008, USA

Phone: (713) 868-1438 | Fax: (832) 201-7147
Copyright 2001-2010 Genealogy by Genetics, Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.