• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jpcreecy
    FTDNA Customer
    • May 2014

Cousin Match on X

I am new to using the X chromosome and need some help.

Will Female first cousins who share the same grandmother, be an identical match on the X Chromosome?

If the brothers are half-siblings, would this still be the case as long as the share the same mother?

I think the answer is Yes, the X should be identical between them since they share the same grandmother.

Thanks
  • ltd-jean-pull
    FTDNA Customer
    • Jun 2016

You haven't stated whether she is a maternal or paternal grandmother, but it doesn't affect things all that much.

If their fathers are brothers there are three possibilities. Each of the fathers may have inherited an identical X-chromosome from their mother which was passed down unchanged from one of her parents. Another possibility is that they do not match at all - one received his maternal grandmother's X-chromosome and the other received his paternal grandmother's chromosome. The third possibility is that recombination occured and they have some matching segments but do not match the entire length of the X-chromosome.

Whatever the makeup of their X-chromosome their daughters will receive this entire X-chromosome that their father has, which may or may not match.

If they are related through their mothers then the mothers would have received identical X-chromosomes from their father, but may or may not have received the same X from their mother (same as the paragraph above).

These mothers may then pass down a complete unchanged X-chromosome from either parent, or a combination of both.

So the answer is no. Female first cousins with the same grandmother will not always be fully identical along the X-chromosome. They may be, but it wouldn't be all that likely. It's also possible they don't match at all.

Comment

• jpcreecy
      FTDNA Customer
      • May 2014

Follow up on Cousin X question