Go Back   Family Tree DNA Forums > Universal Lineage Testing (Autosomal DNA) > Family Finder Advanced Topics

Family Finder Advanced Topics Advanced discussion about Family Tree DNA's Family Finder Product.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd February 2017, 02:51 PM
Marjorie Marjorie is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
Question FF - Family Matching Tool

Is there anywhere I can find how to do this "Family Finder - Family Matching Tool" It shows "Paternal", "Maternal" and "Both" matches. I keep reading the FTDNA learning Centers instructions and somehow just cannot figure it out.
Help?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3rd February 2017, 03:32 PM
KATM KATM is offline
mtDNA: K1a3 | Y-DNA: R-L1308*
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Mid-Atlantic coast, U.S.A.
Posts: 807
That tool will work if these things are done:
1. You have uploaded a GEDCOM file, so you have a family tree at FTDNA
2. You have tested known relatives on your paternal and/or maternal line
3. You link a tested relative to your family tree at FTDNA

When you follow the instructions from the Learning Center for the Family Matching Tool, at what point are you having difficulty?

Here are a couple of blog posts by Roberta Estes on this topic:
Family Tree DNA Introduces Phased Family Finder Matches
Additional Relatives Added to Phased Family Matches at Family Tree DNA

Last edited by KATM; 3rd February 2017 at 03:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd February 2017, 08:13 PM
mabrams mabrams is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 170
Make sure you add and link all relatives of yours who have tested for FF. Up through 3rd cousin.

You wont get a lot of phased matches for thirds but you might get a few.

One third added about 20 phased matches for me and the next 3rd cousin added just one more.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th February 2017, 04:13 PM
Marjorie Marjorie is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
FF - Matching Tool

I have trouble with the Family Matching Tool in linking my brother, he is already in my tree I bring up the Dashboard, then my previous dna matches list comes up, then click on the Family Finder list and every time I add him, they do not say "he is already in my tree" and add him separately from his icon that is already there.

Somehow I am not linking it properly. What am I doing wrong

Thank you for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th February 2017, 04:29 PM
prairielad prairielad is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,729
Edit your brothers name in your tree to match his name on kit, this should, might not be immediate, bring up a purple icon on his name in your tree in which you can use to link him.
Attached Images
File Type: png possible match.png (6.9 KB, 7 views)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th February 2017, 03:46 PM
Marjorie Marjorie is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
FF - Matching Tool

I have the matches that I can link now "linked". There are some of these that have Mr. or Mrs with their names and some are married surnames and some both birth and married surnames. I still have not activated the "Paternal, Maternal, Both" Finder Tabs My guess is that most of my matches are 3rd Cousins/1Removed thru 5th Cousins. Only have my brother and me which does not seem to activate the Paternal, Maternal or Both. Parents are deceased, hopefully we can find a 2nd or 3rd cousin to activate the Family Matching Tool. Am I correct in this assessment.
Thanks to all for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th February 2017, 07:13 PM
prairielad prairielad is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,729
No siblings will not work in regards to Maternal and Paternal tabs due to both sharing the Maternal and Paternal lines.

Only works with Parents/Aunts/Uncles/Grandparents and cousins in the 1st to 3rd range(FTDNA's suggested relationship range) who share a 9cM+ longest segment with you.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th February 2017, 06:55 AM
Lucky Lucky is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 130
Siblings will be allocated a purple symbol and appear in the 'both' category.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15th February 2017, 02:34 PM
stennor stennor is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 61
I've been editing my family tree to exclude anyone in the database I plan to link. For example, I omit my first cousin from my family tree, but I include his mother (my aunt). Then once the tree is loaded, I go into that page, ask the system to find my cousin as one of my matches, and drag him over to identify him as my aunt's son.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marjorie View Post
I have trouble with the Family Matching Tool in linking my brother, he is already in my tree I bring up the Dashboard, then my previous dna matches list comes up, then click on the Family Finder list and every time I add him, they do not say "he is already in my tree" and add him separately from his icon that is already there.

Somehow I am not linking it properly. What am I doing wrong

Thank you for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24th February 2017, 02:20 PM
Marjorie Marjorie is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by prairielad View Post
No siblings will not work in regards to Maternal and Paternal tabs due to both sharing the Maternal and Paternal lines.

Only works with Parents/Aunts/Uncles/Grandparents and cousins in the 1st to 3rd range(FTDNA's suggested relationship range) who share a 9cM+ longest segment with you.
That is a "bummer" ! so all I have will be cousins, and can only verify by their trees as to whether we connect on maternal or paternal....so this new tool will not help me, is that correct.?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
search function of new family finder tool Tia Features Requests & Bug Reports Area 1 11th July 2016 12:40 AM
Can't delete ancestor from family tree tool sporatica Features Requests & Bug Reports Area 4 24th February 2016 01:18 PM
Advanced Matching Tool Glitching suttonwho Features Requests & Bug Reports Area 1 7th May 2015 01:55 PM
Webinar 5/29: Family Tree DNA Results Explained: Family Finder Inheritance & Matching efgen Announcements and New Features 0 28th May 2014 06:12 PM
Tool like 23andMe Family Inheritance: Advanced MIMITWOSIX Features Requests & Bug Reports Area 7 18th April 2013 06:20 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Family Tree DNA - World Headquarters

1445 North Loop West, Suite 820
Houston, Texas 77008, USA

Phone: (713) 868-1438 | Fax: (832) 201-7147
Copyright 2001-2010 Genealogy by Genetics, Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.