• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ACTG MYSTERY
    FTDNA Customer
    • Aug 2016

Transfer to FTDNA changed my results?

I'm not sure if they changed really, or if it is just two names for the same thing, but Geno 2.0(NOT next gen) has my maternal haplogroup as K1D1 and, after I transferred a few days ago, it shows on FTDNA as K1-T16362C. What do I make of this?

My paternal line haplogroup- R-Z156- hasn't changed, but I found a surname project in which every other person has a different haplogroup, so, that's been a bit disorienting as well. Does that not mean that I am unrelated in genealogical time to any of the other participants? I think it does, but even the group introduction references the person that is my oldest known ancestor according to the family genealogist.

I'm new to genetic genealogy, so any help is appreciated.
  • MMaddi
    yDNA: R-CTS2509; mtDNA: T2e
    • Jul 2005

Originally posted by ACTG MYSTERY View Post
    My paternal line haplogroup- R-Z156- hasn't changed, but I found a surname project in which every other person has a different haplogroup, so, that's been a bit disorienting as well. Does that not mean that I am unrelated in genealogical time to any of the other participants? I think it does, but even the group introduction references the person that is my oldest known ancestor according to the family genealogist.

I'm new to genetic genealogy, so any help is appreciated.
    I'm not answering your first question, since I'm not qualified to answer. But I can give a possible answer to your second question, which I've quoted.