Go Back   Family Tree DNA Forums > Maternal Lineages (mtDNA) > mtDNA - Genealogy Basics

mtDNA - Genealogy Basics All may view this forum, but you must register and sign in to post.

Old 12th December 2014, 01:17 PM
FTDNA Customer

So Confused. Please help.

Hello, I am new to this. However, I have read some of the tutorials, and it seems the more I read the more confused I become.

I am really hoping some of you can help me better understand what the information below means in terms of shared genetic relationships with my close matches.

Thank you for any assistance you can provide.

Me(female): Haplogroup: L2e

Origins:
71% African
28% European
16% Scandinavian
10% West Central Europe
2% Finland and Northern Siberian
1% Native American

My Shared Genetic Relationships (All males)

1)Haplogroup: H = 2nd - 4th Cousin
96% European
Shared cM = 53
Matches me on 8 segments

2)Haplogroup: H = 3rd - 5th Cousin
100% European
Shared cM = 42
Matches me on 4 segments

3)Haplogroup: J1c3a1 = 3rd - 5th Cousin
100% European
Shared cM = 43
Matches me on 9 segments

4)Haplogroup: T2f-T19 = 3rd - 5th Cousin
98% European
Shared cM = 24
Matches me on 3 segments
Old 12th December 2014, 07:21 PM
Junior Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunflower View Post
Hello, I am new to this. However, I have read some of the tutorials, and it seems the more I read the more confused I become.

I am really hoping some of you can help me better understand what the information below means in terms of shared genetic relationships with my close matches.

Thank you for any assistance you can provide.

Me(female): Haplogroup: L2e

Origins:
71% African
28% European
16% Scandinavian
10% West Central Europe
2% Finland and Northern Siberian
1% Native American

My Shared Genetic Relationships (All males)

1)Haplogroup: H = 2nd - 4th Cousin
96% European
Shared cM = 53
Matches me on 8 segments

2)Haplogroup: H = 3rd - 5th Cousin
100% European
Shared cM = 42
Matches me on 4 segments