Go Back   Family Tree DNA Forums > General Interest > DNA and Genealogy for Beginners

DNA and Genealogy for Beginners Everything you wanted to know about DNA and Genealogy but didn't know where to ask. This board is open to customers and visitors.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12th December 2012, 07:40 AM
gtc gtc is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,832
New look myFTDNA home page (beta)

The FTDNA elves have been busy overnight: they have given us a new look home page.

Log in and take a look.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th December 2012, 07:51 AM
jbarry6899 jbarry6899 is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 617
New Look myFTDNA home page (beta)

Not crazy about the big logos, but some useful new info, especially match dates. They have added my mtDNA haplogroup from my Geno 2.0 transfer but left my Y haplogroup at L2 rather than Z49, as I have on Geno 2.0. I have indications of updates to my YDNA matches but didn't find any new ones. It also says that I have mtDNA matches, but the list page says I "didn't order this upgrade." I assume that's because my mtDNA data from Geno 2.0 hasn't been processed yet, so I hope that will be done soon.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th December 2012, 08:00 AM
gtc gtc is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbarry6899 View Post
Not crazy about the big logos, but some useful new info, especially match dates. They have added my mtDNA haplogroup from my Geno 2.0 transfer but left my Y haplogroup at L2 rather than Z49, as I have on Geno 2.0.
My mtDNA haplogroup is at long last showing as I3b in line with the current Phylotree. Ever since I did FMS it was shown as simply hg I.

They haven't changed my Y haplogroup declaration from R-L48, although I have long since tested much deeper to R-Z12. I guess they are still working on what to do with the impact of Geno 2 on the Y tree. It is expected that Spencer Wells will display some sort of new tree in his much-anticipated paper, but whether or not FTDNA bothers with trying to maintain a Y haplotree diagram in future is moot.

Quote:
I have indications of updates to my YDNA matches but didn't find any new ones. It also says that I have mtDNA matches, but the list page says I "didn't order this upgrade." I assume that's because my mtDNA data from Geno 2.0 hasn't been processed yet, so I hope that will be done soon.
I have discovered a bug in my FF matches listing. My first (i.e. closest) match is listed twice.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th December 2012, 08:16 AM
Sirius Sirius is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 19
Updating still ongoing?

My Y-DNA matches have changed quite a bit at 37 and 64 level, in that I have lost some. I wonder are the matches still being updated as I have a 65/67 match who I would assume would appear as a 37 level match and does not. I have also lost a previous 65/67 match altogether who now only matches at 12 marker level. Seems a little strange to me.

I tried to click on the new strap-line which advises to click on if matches have changed
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th December 2012, 08:18 AM
gtc gtc is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,832
Another bug. On many pages there's a message at the top saying:

"Due to the recent upgrade of the Y-DNA matching system, your results may have changed. Please click here to understand how the upgrade may have affected you."

... but there's no link to click on. Perhaps the word "here" is meant to be clickable, but it's not.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th December 2012, 08:29 AM
vinnie vinnie is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,609
My two 12 marker matches have disappeared, can't access the y tree, nor all my mtDNA matches - Jim, I transferred my GENO results too, but I had already done the FMS, so not sure why all of my mtDNA isn't working unless there's "interference" from GENO. FF & PF seem to be working okay. I like the new setup!

Last edited by vinnie; 12th December 2012 at 08:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th December 2012, 08:33 AM
gtc gtc is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie View Post
My two 12 marker matches have disappeared, can't access the y tree, nor all my mtDNA matches. FF & PF seem to be working okay.
Have you by chance uploaded Geno 2 results?

I have now officially gained two (already known) Y matches at 111, albeit at 10 steps. I think they have increased the step count to 10.

And I now have 1 official mtDNA match, whereas I have had zero to date.

Last edited by gtc; 12th December 2012 at 08:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th December 2012, 08:39 AM
vinnie vinnie is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,609
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtc View Post
Have you by chance uploaded Geno 2 results?

I have now officially gained two (already known) Y matches at 111, albeit at 10 steps. I think they have increased the step count to 10.

And I now have 1 official mtDNA match, whereas I have had zero to date.
As above, as I did. Did you? Hmm, wondering if it would have been better to make these changes before people starting uploading GENO results...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12th December 2012, 08:44 AM
jbarry6899 jbarry6899 is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie View Post
As above, as I did. Did you? Hmm, wondering if it would have been better to make these changes before people starting uploading GENO results...
Yes, it seems that doing both at the same time is leading to complications.

I don't think I have any new Y matches--when I sort by date the latest is 9/6.

Am I correct that by transferring my Geno 2.0 data I should be getting some mtDNA matches, even though I didn't purchase a test from FTDNA?

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12th December 2012, 08:46 AM
gtc gtc is offline
FTDNA Customer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie View Post
As above, as I did. Did you? Hmm, wondering if it would have been better to make these changes before people starting uploading GENO results...
No, I haven't done Geno 2, so it seems that the haplotree view is different depending on that. I still see the familiar tired old tree.

I think the problems we see are the result of poor testing. Seems to me that FTDNA IT uses what's known as the "Wright Bros Testing Methodology" --- you build something and then keep pushing it off a cliff until it files ... and it's the users who are the test pilots.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 PM.


Family Tree DNA - World Headquarters

1445 North Loop West, Suite 820
Houston, Texas 77008, USA

Phone: (713) 868-1438 | Fax: (832) 201-7147
Copyright 2001-2010 Genealogy by Genetics, Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.