X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Okiebirdnerd
    • Apr 2017

What test needed Female looking for half brother and nephew

My name is Teresa (Terri) Miller. Kit # 499411. I have only done a family finder test and want to know if a myDNA would help me with my father’s family. Or should I have my living brother do a test (which test) since I am searching my father’s side of the family for a half-brother I recently found out about. I am also searching for a nephew that my deceased brother fathered at 16 that was adopted... I am very new to all this find it overwhelming! . Any help would be appreciated! Thank you for your time.
  • ltd-jean-pull
    FTDNA Customer
    • Jun 2016

Since you are looking for very close relatives your nephew and half-brother would both come up as very good autosomal matches (so the FamilyFinder test) to you and your living brother.

One thing to consider is that your relatives may have tested with another company, so your brother might want to test elsewhere.

Comment

• Okiebirdnerd
      • Apr 2017

Originally posted by ltd-jean-pull View Post
      Since you are looking for very close relatives your nephew and half-brother would both come up as very good autosomal matches (so the FamilyFinder test) to you and your living brother.

One thing to consider is that your relatives may have tested with another company, so your brother might want to test elsewhere.
      So if my half brother or nephew had done a test it would have shown up on my family finder test results? Can I submit my family finder test to other companies or do I have to take the test for each company?? Don't I need my brother to do a test to get farther along in my Miller tree since I can't find my grandfather Millers fathers parents? Should my brother do a Family Finder test or something different?
      Thank you so much for the reply. I really appreciate your time.
      Terri

Comment

• prairielad
        FTDNA Customer
        • Feb 2011