• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • wvcountrygirl01
    FTDNA Customer
    • Jul 2018

GEDmatch HELP

I'm new at this DNA and after researching everything, I'm more confused then ever. I'm trying to find information on my great-grandfather. From the stories I've received he had changed his name and had multiple wives and children. I cant find any information on the name change since this was in the 1920s and I'm unsure if I have the correct man or am I'm following the wrong family history. I found a guy on Ancestry that has the same name as my great-grandfathers original name listed in their family tree. I did the GEDmatch since they had done their DNA on Ancestry and mine was done on 23andme. If my information is correct then my 4th great grandfather and his 3rd great grandfather would have been the same person. To make it easier to explain.. Leonard is supposedly my 4th great grandfather, his son William was this guys great-great grandfather. Leonard also had another son name AM. AM would have been my 3rd-great grandfather.

The guy from ancestry's grandmother (mothers mom) was the decedent of Leonard. When doing the GEDmatch one on one comparison with the ancestry guy - it showed 0 DNA shared segments but when I compared his mother's DNA it showed came back with this...

Largest segment = 7.2cM

Total Half-Match segments (HIR) = 7.2cM (0.200 Pct)
    Estimated number of generations to MRCA = 7.5

1 shared segments found for this comparison

155608 SNPs used for this comparison
    52.073 Pct SNPs are full identical
    Chr section:

Chr 15
    B37 Start Pos'n - 98,924,124
    B37 En Pos'n - 101,802,565
    cM - 7.2
    SNPs - 263

After reading several articles I'm confused to know if I'm really related the guy and his mother or did his mother and I just match on chance? Why wouldnt the guy show any shared DNA if his mother did, would it be because hes further down the line? If someone could explain this in simple terms that would be great.
  • travers